First blog post

Hi. I am not new to blogs but for my writing adventures I prefer to use a new platform so here’s my wordpress site. You can find me on Fanfiction.com and archiveofourown.com by the name LycheeRambutan. The name is borrowed from two kinds of ASEAN fruits, which when unpeeled looks very similar.

Lychee can be made into a drink and be put into desserts while the other is eaten raw and is a flavour for ice cream I think. I had a few aliases for my anonymous writing but finally settled on Lychee Rambutan. I know that one can’t remain anonymous for long on Internet but this way I can somehow separate reality from my wannabe world.

Yeah, I am a wannabe writer. So far I’ve written some poems for a local publication about two decades ago. From primary school to Secondary school I indulged in writing and drawing for hobbies only. I think I did write one or two article for the school magazine. At University I never wrote anything for print, only assignments and love letters. Lol. I even made a comic about me and my boyfriend (future husband) when we were in the initial stage of our relationship. It seems cheap and  silly but now I could see that it was a foundation to my future.

I am middle 30s and sometimes it seems like it is too late for me to be writing and doing arts while people my age seem to be really comfortable in their current position. I used to care about that… But I decided to just go on with life. People will say things and be judgemental but they won’t stop you because talk is cheap.

So here I am, I have written 13 fanfiction stories. Four of which are short stories in English. Fanfiction is perfect for creating stories and writing without plot. It is a very free place for authors. Of course I crave for writing original fiction. So far I have only one which I can’t publish here anyone else. It’s in the Malay language and for it I won second prize. Just got the cheque last weekend and signed the contract for copyright. It will be published within 18 months and after publication I will get ten free copies. I am so proud of myself.

I used to have many feelings about wriitng, mainly because it involves not finishing the story. But nowadays since I started writing for fanfiction, when I actually put pen to paper, or finger sto keyboard a lot of magic happens. I am always plotting my unfinished stories. I started only with a basic plot and when the actual writings came, I fell flat on the floor crying. This is much like the sayings go, ‘If you fail to plan, you are planning to fail.” Very much right. See you around.

 

 

Leave a Reply

