TV Production vs Office Hour Work

I miss making programs for television or even video production. It’s been twelve years since I did a video project like directing, editing or even holding the camera. The last time I was directly involved was acting as the host for my internal production about five years ago and it was fun. These days I am working as an editor for online content.

The thing about video production is that you have to get out and produce, and the people you work with don’t operate on a 8.30 am to 5.30 pm basis. I am not sure if doing production during office hours only would impair a producer’s / director’s creativity but it’s been traditional that it’s an odd job work. It was as if you have to go home late because your team works late. I found this unappealing and why I am not ready to jump into production.

I am currently working 8.30 am to 5.30 pm and am quite comfortable in this role because I have two kids, a preschooler and not so quite a toddler. The thing is I don’t have night or weekend nanny so I am taking the office hour route. Ok sometimes I arrive later at 9.00 am and onwards still I come back home just before my kid’s daycare closes.

Ok my arguments are useless, there’s no reason why I should not work as a TV program producer. Hell I am just procrastinating here, at my rate the most I would be if I transferred office now would be a Floor Manager or Assistant Producer. Hmmm. I really want to change job scopes but am too afraid to do anything about it.

Before this I blame it on my condition of not knowing and owning a transport, and then I learned how to drive and startedĀ driving my own car. Now I am using my kids as the reason behind my reluctance. This is all psychology maybe, and maybe I do need a paradigm shift in 2017. Pray hard that I will have the strength to change this thinking that not working office hour would be a bad thing.

Bye.

Author:

LycheeRambutan is my writer alter ego. You can also find me on ff dot net, AO3, Tumblr, Wattpad and Deviantart.

Leave a Reply

